fashion//style / the brasharian

Which Watch to Wear

I have never been one to wear watches.  The chains pull my arm hair and in the winter, the metal freezes my wrist.  I have a smaller wrist so some often look bulky and rattle around.  I’ve yet to have much luck in finding a watch for me that fits not only my personality but also my anatomy.  I was with a coworker today who had on an amazing watch!

This watch has a face that is a reasonable size with a cool and casual bead and leather strap.  My coworker also has a similar size wrist as me so be it he decides to wear it again where I work, I will steal it.

I don’t believe it is just me anymore who has neglected the cultural statement that wearing a wrist watch means.  My grandmother used to tell me that a man’s watch is a symbol of who he is and where he is going.  That’s something I can agree on, I can tell the difference between a busted tacky arm clock or digital stopwatch and a chic watch that is simultaneously simple yet complex.  However, it has come to my attention that a large amount of youth (men more so than women) are trading in their watches for the digital clock on their phone.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my iPhone and how reliable it is to me when checking the date and the time.  That has been my only form of telling time for years.

A lot of the attention could be put on the fashion industry, not fully understanding the youth consumers concerning what they like, what they want, and how they want a watch.  Most of the straps/chains are typically similar with few new concepts to update the style.  The face of the watch is usually the only thing that people can use to identify their personal watch, and the differences in those are very subtle.

Where is the best place to find a good watch?  It’s all in an individual’s taste and I am too picky a person to offer advice when it comes to shopping for watches.  And with how much $$ a watch runs in today’s society, there is good reason to be picky.  The best advice I can offer to to think original and look for something that people will notice from a distance.  Trust me, you’ll enjoy the attention!

 

One thought on “Which Watch to Wear

  1. Pingback: Online Window Shopping Journal 12/4/2012 (Urban Outfitters) | The Brasharian

Leave a Reply

