collaborations

j. j. threads men’s shirt design and manufacturing

 

Customer wearing his JJ Threads shirt.

Customer wearing his JJ Threads shirt.

J. J. Threads is a shirt company far different from any other.  The founder, gorgeous man Jay Wich (did you see my interview with Jay Wich?), is a Boston native who attended Harvard and then moved to Hong Kong to work.  There, he started visiting tailors to make custom shirts to fit his size and color specifications and noticed a remarkable difference in his own style and the way he stood out.  This routine inspired him to turn this concept into a business where people from all over the world can log into his site and create their perfect shirt.

The company is one of the first to allow it’s customers full control over the purchase.  The online community J J Threads has established is unlike any other, providing a social network platform as well as the ability to share and purchase shirts designed by other users.  It is an empowering experience being allowed to design a shirt completely reflective of my individual style and have it translate into a garment that is exactly what I wanted and the way I wanted.  The best part is that others in the J J boards have liked my shirt design, and all my friends look at my shirt and think “that’s totally something you would wear.”  The company has a lot of excitement around them right now and they are preparing to release custom shirts for women (with new fabrics, fits and customizing options) as well as creating garments other than shirts for  the customers to design (shorts and jackets, I hope!).

Jay Wich, Founder of JJ Threads

Jay Wich, Founder of JJ Threads

The process is easy and a lot of fun for the guy who wants to take a minute out of their day to design a custom shirt (from collar to trim) with their size and flare.  The shirts are not expensive, especially when you take into account all sales are done online, there is a large selection of fabrics that are very high quality and exclusive, the construction is custom to your specifications, and the shirt isn’t made until you design and place the order!  I ordered my shirt using the same process and had to get some help to pick everything out from my friends.  J.J. Threads also lets you order the shirts created by other people when they share it with the JJ online community that provides free shipping.

To make a JJ, go Here and follow me in the steps!

You start out with a blank shirt as the canvas.  You don’t have to have a concept in  mind when starting, I had something completely different when I started compared to what I ended up making.

jj1

You have to select what part of the shirt you want to customize first.  I started with the body, fumbled through all the fabric options until I found some choices I liked, then moved on to try ideas with the collar, the cuff, the stitching and the buttons.  The interface for the process is super easy and if you click on the “i” in the circle on the fabric options, it gives you a close up real-life picture of the actual fabric so you can get a picture in your head of what you’re making.  When you have finished the design part, click the “save” button then click the button that says “choose size and fit” and you can place your order for your shirt!  Here is what my shirt looked like on the computer right when I ordered it!

jj2

I’m going to make another one soon to start my summer off with, and I have designed three already to decide from.  You can see a few more that I’ve designed on my J.J. Threads page, just follow this link to my account!

JJ threads custom shirt

JJ threads custom shirt

 

*This is a sponsored post for J. J. Threads.

*All images property of J. J. Threads.

Leave a Reply

